Tuesday, January 27, 2009

Posey Rorer Complete Edison Recordings

Posey Rorer and his North Carolina Ramblers
Complete Edison Recordings
September 24, 1928

After parting ways with Charlie Poole and the North Carolina Ramblers likely in the early part of 1928, Posey went into the studios at Edison with his own band, which he also called the North Carolina Ramblers. The musicians at this session were Matt Simmons from Stokes County, NC on guitar and lead vocals, Frank Miller singing tenor, and Posey on fiddle.

Seven sides from this session were either rejected or unissued, and two were issued only on cylinder records. In this download are all twelve sides from the masters.

We'll Understand It Better
Wild and Reckless Hobo
Blue Eyed Eller
Sweet Sunny South Take Me Home
I'll Meet My Mother After All
Did You Mean Those Words You Said
As We Sat Beneath the Maple
The Drunkard's Dream
Down in a Georgia Jail
Beautiful Beckoning Hands
He's Coming Back Again
If I Could Hear My Mother Pray Again

Click Here to Download: